Looking for ISO/IEC 14496?

ISO/IEC 14496

ISO/IEC 14496
ISO 14496-1:2004 is a family of standards for the storage, transport and communication of images. AISO, 14496-2:2006 covers digital imaging and provides specifications for multimedia data formats such as JPEG2000. ISO 14496-3:2007 is a revision of ISO 14496-1 that expands the standard to cover 3D image capture and rendering.

What is ISO/IEC 14496-10:2009 Information technology — Coding of audio-visual objects — Part 10: Advanced Video Coding?

ISO/IEC 14496-10:2009, also known as AVC (Advanced Video Coding) or H.264, is a standard for video compression that was developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). It is part of the MPEG-4 (Moving Picture Experts Group) family of standards and is widely used for video compression in various applications, including streaming, broadcasting, video conferencing, and more.

Here are some key points about ISO/IEC 14496-10:2009:
  1. Objective: The primary objective of this standard is to provide efficient compression of video data while maintaining high video quality. It achieves this through various compression techniques, including motion compensation, entropy coding, and more.
  2. Features: AVC offers a wide range of features and profiles to support different applications and devices. These profiles include Baseline, Main, Extended, High, High 10, High 4:2:2, and High 4:4:4, each with varying levels of compression efficiency and supported features.
  3. Efficiency: AVC is known for its superior compression efficiency compared to earlier video coding standards like MPEG-2. It can deliver high-quality video at lower bitrates, making it suitable for various bandwidth-constrained applications.
  4. Applications: AVC is widely used for video compression in a variety of applications, including digital television (DTV), video streaming (e.g., YouTube, Netflix), Blu-ray Discs, video conferencing, surveillance systems, and more.
  5. Compatibility: AVC has broad industry support and is compatible with a wide range of devices as well software platforms. Also it is a widely adopted standard, making it a popular choice for video encoding and decoding.
  6. Scalability: The standard allows for scalability, meaning that it can adapt to different network conditions and device capabilities. This makes it suitable for adaptive streaming, where the video quality can be adjusted based on available bandwidth.
  7. Contributions: AVC was the result of collaborative efforts by various organizations and experts in the field of video coding. It builds upon previous video coding standards, including H.263 and MPEG-2.
  8. Successor: While AVC has been highly successful and widely adopted, it has been succeeded by newer video coding standards, such as H.265/HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding), which offer even higher compression efficiency. HEVC is designed to provide better video quality at lower bitrates, making it suitable for the evolving demands of video delivery.
In summary, ISO/IEC 14496-10:2009 (AVC/H.264) is a widely used video compression standard known for its efficiency and versatility in various applications. It played a crucial role in the transition from older video coding standards to more advanced and efficient compression technologies.

ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022

ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022 is an international standard that specifies the requirements for information security management systems. The standard covers a wide range of topics, including risk assessment, security architecture, data protection, incident response, and security management processes.

It is a mandatory standard that all organizations must implement in order to manage their information security risks. Thus, Organizations can use the standard to help to streamline their information security process and improve their overall security posture.

This standard is updated every three years. This means that it is important for organizations to stay up-to-date with the latest version of the standard in order to meet its requirements.

Organizations can use ISO/IEC 14496-12:2022 to help to identify and mitigate information security risks. The standard can also be used to create an overall information security framework for an organization.

ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021 Information technology — Coding of audio-visual objects — Part 32: File format reference software and conformance

ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021 is a standard within the MPEG-4 (Moving Picture Experts Group) family of standards. It is titled “Information technology — Coding of audio-visual objects — Part 32: File format reference software and conformance.” This standard focuses on defining reference software and conformance specifications related to the file format used in MPEG-4 multimedia systems.

Here are some key points about ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021:
  1. File Format Reference Software: The standard provides reference software for encoding and decoding multimedia data conforming to the MPEG-4 file format. Reference software is a crucial tool for implementers and developers, as it serves as a reference implementation of the standard, helping ensure interoperability and compliance with the standard.
  2. File Format Conformance: ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021 specifies the conformance requirements for systems and applications that use the MPEG-4 file format. Conformance ensures that multimedia data encoded and decoded according to this standard can be correctly interpreted and processed by different systems and software.
  3. MPEG-4 File Format: The MPEG-4 file format, also known as MP4 (MPEG-4 Part 14), is a widely used multimedia container format that can store various types of multimedia data, including video, audio, text, and metadata. It is commonly used for streaming, digital multimedia distribution, and multimedia applications.
  4. Interoperability: The reference software and conformance specifications provided in ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021 aim to enhance interoperability among different systems as well as applications that use the MPEG-4 file format. This helps ensure that multimedia content created with one system can be played back or edited with another, regardless of the software or hardware used.
  5. Updates and Revisions: Standards like ISO/IEC 14496-32 may undergo revisions or updates over time to address evolving technologies and industry needs. Therefore, it’s essential to refer to the latest version of the standard for the most current information.
Overall, ISO/IEC 14496-32:2021 plays a crucial role in facilitating the correct encoding, decoding, and exchange of multimedia content in accordance with the MPEG-4 file format, promoting compatibility and interoperability among multimedia systems and applications.

At last, Pacific Certifications is accredited by ABIS, you need more support with ISO 14496, please contact us at +91-8595603096 or support@pacificcert.com

Suggested Certifications –

  1. ISO 9001:2015
  2. ISO 14001:2015
  3. ISO 45001:2018
  4. ISO 22000:2018
  5. ISO 27001:2022

Contact us to know more about ISO/IEC 14496

Related Certifications

Get in Touch

Email Address


Call Us